Skip to content

Lies, fantasy and Make-Believe. Where do you draw the line?

March 29, 2012

It really irks me when parents lie to their kids at a young age and then expect their kids to tell the truth.  Don’t believe me?  Let me provide some examples just using the holidays:

@Christmastime.  The lie is about who buys, wraps and delivers the kids’ presents.

@Eastertime.  The lie is about who brought the Easter basket filled with goodies.

@St. Patrick’s day.  The lie is about little Leprechauns who decorate the house in green.

Oh and then there is the Toothfairy who gives you money after you lose a tooth.

I do not mind the imagination and make believe.  That is a part of the child’s life but the lies need to stop if you want your child to grow up telling the truth.  The shades of gray is always confusing for a child who sees a parent lie yet they tell the child not to.

3 Comments
  1. March 30, 2012 2:53 pm

    These lies inspire the imagination, so they’re not necessarily harmful. What is destructive are mean spirited lies that hurt children in the short and long term. An example would be doing your child’s homework the allowing them to turn it in for full credit. Or telling your child that gramma went on vacation when she really died.

    Thinking of you.

    • March 31, 2012 12:19 am

      i have not seen or hear from you in so long and i check fb now and then and do not see you there. whats up?

      • April 2, 2012 5:31 pm

        I had deleted my FB a few months ago 🙂 I’m back on there now. I’ll try to find you on there. I still update my blog, too – you can creep around there sometime 😉

Comments are closed.

