Skip to content

I judged a book by its cover.

January 14, 2012

Books are companions that stay with you forever. Whenever I read any books that connect with me on a personal level, I wish I could climb into the pages and hug those dear characters on the pages.  Their struggles, tears, joys all stay with me.  That’s how you know an author is great.

Currently I am reading a book titled “The Good Muslim” by Thahmima Anam.  The title grabbed my attention at first.  I am Muslim by birth and whenever I see Islam portrayed anywhere by others I want to check them out.  To see if they are portraying Islam in a positive or negative light.  The next thing that caught my attention was the author’s name.  Though I did not know the author, the name sounded familiar.  I checked out the author’s bio in the back of the book and sure enough she was from my home country of Bangladesh.

The book is a page turner for me.  According the author’s website the synopsis of the books goes like this:

A remarkable novel about one family who, having fought in Bangladesh’s brutal war of independence, must now face the challenges of peace.

In the dying days of a brutal civil war, Sohail Haque stumbles upon an abandoned building. Inside, he finds a young woman whose story will haunt him for a lifetime to come . . .

Almost a decade later, Sohail’s sister Maya returns home after a long absence to find her beloved brother transformed. While Maya has stuck to her revolutionary ideals, Sohail has shunned his old life to become a charismatic religious leader. And when Sohail decides to send his son to madrasa, the conflict between them comes to a devastating climax.

Set in Bangladesh at a time when religious fundamentalism is on the rise, The Good Muslim is an epic story about faith, family and the long shadow of war.”

I will be doing a book review on “the Good Muslim” as soon as I am done.  I am beyond excited about finding a book that grabs me heart and soul and I simply cannot put it down until I am done and know that my “friends” are ok in the end.

Happy reading!

3 Comments
  1. January 16, 2012 3:06 am

    I hope other folks consider your post listed here as helpful as I have. I manage a blog site myself and would be delighted for you or the visitors on your web site to visit. Please feel free to look through my website like I have with your own and post a remark or two if you find anything interesting. Thanks again.

  2. January 20, 2012 4:44 pm

    I just added this blog site to my rss reader, great stuff. Cannot get enough!

  3. January 21, 2012 1:23 pm

    Hello Webmaster, I noticed that http://marjnhomer.com/2012/01/14/i-judged-a-book-by-its-cover/ is ranking pretty low on Google and has a low Google PageRank. Now the Google PageRank is how Google is able to see how relevant your webpage is compared to all the other webpages online, if you cannot rank high at the top of Google, then you will NOT get the traffic you need. Now usually trying to get to the top of Google costs hundreds if not thousands of dollars and very highly optimized targeted marketing campaigns that takes a team of experts months to achieve. However, we can show you how to get to the top of Google with no out of pocket expenses (free traffic), no stupid ninja tricks, no silly mind control techniques, and this will be all white hat with no blackhat software or tactics that could possibly land you on bad terms with Google and put you in the dreaded “Google Sandbox”. We’ll show you how to easily capture all the targeted traffic you need, for free, multiple ways to land fast (not months) first-page rankings in Google and other major search engines (Bing, Yahoo, Ask, etc), even show you strategies on how to earn daily commissions just try Ranking Top of Google, please check out our 5 minute video.

Comments are closed.

