Skip to content

I stopped traffic.

January 26, 2011

No one know this about us but me and my hubby actually have 4 kids.  There are the conventional 2 sons and 1 daughter who everyone knows about and then its the “other” child. 

Other child requires:

Constant oil change

Constant gas which fumes up the air and is bad for our health

Constant maintenance

Without a word from it.  Who wants to deal with that?  We do and so does everyone else who has a car that is as precious as the humans around them.  So yesterday child #4 was badly damaged through no fault of my own.

I was driving the beloved Nissan Sentra to the doctor’s. On the way home it was snowing pretty bad, not too bad that it was a blizzard but lots of flurries everywhere. I was driving home as if I was in a rush for something. I had other things to do on my to-do list that needed getting done.  It was 2:00 p.m. and the afternoon prayer was going to leave soon.

I went over a thick layer of snow.  The car spun around and I let go of the accelerator and the car rammed itself into the divider.  I was shaken and called my hubby.  My brother-in-law picks up and asked whats wrong? “Just give it to my husband.”  I reply back.  He gives it and I say, “I was in an accident. What do I do now?” 

Cars are zooming by and I’m waiting. No one stops. Everyone is going on with their lives.  Except one great gentleman of around 6o years of age. I really wish I got his name.  He comes to the window and asks if I’m alright. 

“I’m good. My husband is on his way. Do I call the police?”

“If the car is moving and you’re physically fine, you don’t have to call the police.” 

I reverse the car a little straighter.  Still shaken. Tears are running down my eyes.  I wipe away and more flow down.

“Ok, if you’re alright. I’ll be on my way.” He says and leaves.

After another 10 or so minutes, the police arrive.  Ask if I’m alright. 

I stopped traffic without even meaning too. I was not dressed provocatively or anything.  😉

Anyways, I spun the car around and drove the car in that condition.  I am going to take some pics and try to post them up soon.

So, do you have any stories of accidents and how long did it take you before you got back behind the wheel again?

7 Comments
  1. chuckle permalink
    January 26, 2011 4:16 am

    🙂 you scared me w/ the intro a little.

    • January 26, 2011 8:38 pm

      i’m trying to improve on my writing skills so i thought of a more clever way to start..

  2. Zasia permalink
    January 26, 2011 4:20 am

    Awww, alhamdulillah you are ALIVE!! and that was so cute of the man! I know how that feels tho, sometimes I see someone stranded on the side of the highway and I want to stop but either I’m driving by really fast or my mom’s voice is always running in the back of my mind, “be careful, you never know what these people could want! youre gonna go in trying to help and then they’ll blame you” :\

    • January 26, 2011 8:42 pm

      well if your with someone both of you can go for it that way your not the only one who feels crappy plus to help others is a good thing since your intention was well you’ll be rewarded..

  3. January 26, 2011 7:35 pm

    Oh yes, I know all too well how demanding cars can be! Oil changes, new tires, more gas… the list is endless. For a long while I was torn between whether it was worth it to own one, but then my car rendered itself un-drive-able, so my decision was made for me. And yeah, I haven’t driven since that happened. I don’t think I like driving…
    Hope your car turns out to be okay! It’s good that there were some people out there willing to help you. 🙂

    • January 26, 2011 8:43 pm

      the good samaritan really brightened my day so much beyond words.

      and the car is slowly gettin fixed..:-)

  4. Naureen permalink
    January 28, 2011 11:20 pm

    so glad that you are ok, alhumdulilah. i hate car accidents (not that anyone likes them..well except for insurance companies) and i hate to hear when people get into them. i’m just glad you are ok.

Comments are closed.

