Skip to content

Practice makes perfect

January 15, 2011

Ever since I was in elementary school, I had a fascination with writing.  I wanted to write in a way that people understood and were inspired by.  I wanted my writing to live on forever, something students analyze in class like they do with Maya Angelou’s “I Know why the Caged Bird Sings”.  The weird thing is I’m a shy person and the way I think is how I usually write.  So the more a person read me, the more they would find out what I’m thinking.

I would buy books and books on how to improve your writing. How to write better short stories. How to ace tests. How to write essays. How to study.  Then I would read them over and over and put nothing to practice.  I would worry when is my writing going to get better.   When will it soar above in the sky and be published for all eyes to see and minds to analyze?

But with all good things, it takes practice and time.   With a blog you press publish and its out there in the world-wide web waiting to be found and discovered.  If you write really well, it might even be on the Freshly Pressed page on WordPress.   I am learning though with lots of reading and writing here and there, this challenge of mine to improve will be accomplished.  To improve you have to do something over and over and keep experimenting. 

Did your writing improved since the beginning or is it just getting worse?

3 Comments
  1. January 16, 2011 4:53 am

    I’ve been out of school for a while. very little made any sense to me when I was there. it even surprized me that I passed tests, but I love to write. I took a writing course and bought books on language usage, but in the end it’s all just too much info for me.
    So I just write and short and briefly as I can and concentrate on getting my message across, and I think I’m perfecting that.
    Good luck at your stab at immortality. I think you have a good writing voice.

  2. January 17, 2011 12:38 am

    I’m somewhat shy myself, that’s probably why I enjoy writing. In writing you can take more time to think about what you’re trying to say, and check that your message is clear and to-the-point. But yes, time and practice. I know the feeling… will I ever get there?

  3. January 22, 2011 5:02 am

    thank you sy. i think i need an online course or something to motivate me again. sometimes i just feel stuck and feel myself repeating things.

    harmamae-you will get there. like you said time and practice.

Comments are closed.

