Skip to content

importance of no

January 13, 2011

I’m trying to teach my kids the importance of understanding no.  My two boys have not understood the concept, yet. 

For example: my son took his cousin’s candy bar.  She got upset and went to her mom. I took it away from him. He cries constantly jumping up and down screaming.  My mom is like just give him the candy bar. Make him stop crying.

This annoys me because my husband did the same thing today. I told my kids if they finished their rice will get a cookie. if they do not, they will not. i stated this clearly to them.  hubby comes along and says, “you can’t give one and not the other”, and gives them all cookies.  I get ticked off and he says, “they are still young they will learn as they get older.”

Sometimes when there is a disagreement between the parents as to how to handle any situation involving kids, the kids pick up on it and use it to their advantage.  I would like to raise my kids to the best of my ability.  I’m trying over and over.  Sometimes I feel defeated and want to tell some people, “fine, you know how to raise kids, take mine and do it yourself.  Don’t give me any more advice.”

5 Comments
  1. Lone Diamond permalink
    January 13, 2011 3:56 pm

    like, like, like!!!!
    I’m with you 😀

  2. Safiyyah permalink
    January 13, 2011 4:55 pm

    I know what you mean.If you wait until the kids grow older it will be to late. I think you should tell them to mine their bizwax (smile)

  3. January 13, 2011 11:42 pm

    thank you lone diamond. i checked out your blog. pretty interesting stuff and hopefully see you around mor often.

    safiyyah-i need to start learning how to tell others to mind their bizwaz. lol

  4. Safiyyah permalink
    January 14, 2011 7:01 pm

    me too

  5. rini permalink
    January 14, 2011 11:43 pm

    Unfortunately my brother still hasn’t learned “no” and he is 21

Comments are closed.

