Skip to content

Just breathe.

December 28, 2010

For someone writing is like breathing, it comes naturally to them but not without years of practice.  For me writing is like trying to wring out raindrops from clouds forcefully.  You have no control over it and there is nothing you can do to make it happen. 

Lately I have been on a quest to learn how to write better. It’s the same advice over and over.  To write better you need to read better. I do not know how to read better except for pleasure. 

I have been reading more books lately but when I read the words, the flow effortlessly off the pages making me want to write better but I get stuck. 

I do not know where to start or how to start writing better.  I want to improve on myself and the ability to communicate words and feelings across to many people at once.  I want to be able to creat stories that are dancing around in your head as you read those words.

My stream of imagination has been low and depleted.  The mind wanders everywhere and cannot focus or fight inspiration when it needs it.  Once I do find that inspiration, to put pen to paper is so agonizing, I might as well be giving birth over and over again.  In the words of Albert Einstein:

“Imagination is more important than knowledge, since knowledge is merely limited.. while imagination embraces the entire world.” –

What do you do when the ink is dry and the words stop flowing from your brain to the screen?  How do you post?  Is it frequently?  When the mood strikes? 

P.S. Remember sharing is caring. 🙂

2 Comments
  1. December 28, 2010 5:52 pm

    I think so many of us experience this from time to time. For me, I just try to accept it. Some writing gurus tell you that you have to write every day no matter what. I believe it works better (for me) if I just go with the flow. Whenever I try to force anything it seems I doom myself. Changing genres helps. Lately, I’ve been visiting a lot of poetry blogs and responding to their prompts. I have a novel waiting for a rewrite and it will be time to tackle that soon…but a little break is good. Good luck with your writing. Thanks for your visit to my blog. (There are some good poetry links on my blogroll.) Victoria

  2. December 29, 2010 4:37 am

    so how long did the novel writing process take you? many authors say they have this story they need to tell and let the characters do the talking, is that true? and thank you for your advice,really appreciate it. and hope to see you around more often 🙂

Comments are closed.

