Skip to content

Technology: miracle or curse?

December 14, 2010

Technology.
Is it a tool that advances us as human beings or has it turned us into robots who punch in and out, not taking time to enjoy the small things in life? Many rely so much on the written word to convey what they say and mean that many of us have forgotten how to simply just talk. In the modern era you have texting, emails, Facebook and blogs.
All are the written word that say so much about who we are and where we are going. A husband can read his wife’s blog and find out many things about her that she probably feels more comfortable telling her “followers” rather than him. (If that’s the case, they have some communication issues that need to be solved)

For example, Facebook is a great invention. You upload pics and share them with all your friends and they make comments (which you love). But lately its making me think, the more we have devices such as MySpace, Facebook and Twitter (which asks the question “what are you doing right now?”) the more we rely on these devices to tell others whats going on with our lives, instead of simply picking up the phone and making small talk. I know I am guilty of this at times. The longer you go without any communication the longer and more awkward it feels when you finally do say the magic word: “HELLO”. That simple word is all it takes to get a conversation going.

I know I’m a person who spends too much time online that I don’t realize where the time has gone. Time wasted. Time that could have gone into something more productive that making a few clicks here and there.

Sometimes lives are ruined by the click of a mouse. You do not even have to leave the house any more to embarrass anyone. Just upload a pic onto Facebook, tag some friends and have them pass it on. Want to embarrass someone live in 3-D? All you need is a video cam or one from your phone, Internet connection and a computer? One word on live 3-D embarrassment: YouTube.

This all makes me wonder, is technology a miracle or curse? You tell me.

 

7 Comments
  1. December 14, 2010 1:41 am

    I think it all has to do with your intention. So many people are using all of these sites to promote good, influence others, and teach them a thing or two. Of course too much of anything is not always good either. You have to have balance.

  2. December 14, 2010 3:47 am

    that is so true. finding the balance is really hard to do but it can be done. it all depends on your intention

  3. December 16, 2010 10:57 pm

    “A husband can read his wife’s blog and find out many things about her that she probably feels more comfortable telling her “followers” rather than him. (If that’s the case, they have some communication issues that need to be solved)”

    I laughed out loud at your comment in parenthesis 🙂

    Technology is good and bad – just like anything I suppose. I do think that it is making it so people are more awkward in one on one conversations. People lack the intimacy of these conversations. There are keyboard warriors and creepers. People who are angry are the ones who troll forums and blogs, because what they say is really what they feel about themselves.

    My mom refuses to get a Facebook, or to let my dad have one. She said that affairs come from FB. I told my mom that if someone is looking to have an affair, they don’t need FB to do it, it’s simply the vehicle.

    Technology…I’d say it’s best used responsibly and in moderation, like recreational drugs! BTW, your post made me think of this – http://www.lamebook.com/minor-mishaps/minorm1/

    I’m loving your posts, they’re thought provoking. I like that.

    • December 19, 2010 2:05 am

      aww about your mom and her fb issues. i kind of see her point with fb becuase the temptations are out there. i have an fb but my hubby does not and he says not to post my pics online either.

      i need more ideas for thought provoking posts. they are hard to come by and reading about your journey and bits n pieces of your childhood is awesome..

      • December 19, 2010 6:49 am

        Thanks marjn,. Try to not be afraid of putting stuff out there. Sometimes, I feel a little insecure after writing something very personal, but people always thank me for it. It makes me feel like I’m no longer alone, and that the reader is not either. I’m sure you have many great stories, writing them can be very hard. Try one, hold your breath and click ‘post’. 🙂

  4. December 20, 2010 2:17 am

    I think the verdict is still out on this one, although we’re learning more about the negative impact of some of these things now.

  5. December 20, 2010 10:32 pm

    hopefully there is more positive than negative on technology…

Comments are closed.

